TY Media Week Programme

About the Programme

The TY Media Week Programme will provide Transition Year Students across the country with a unique opportunity to get involved in the creation of content for broadcast on a radio station across the country. The programme is run by Learning Waves and funded by the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland through the Television Licence fee. A total of 15 radio stations will take part in the programme between September 2019 and March 2020. Students can apply to the radio station in their area (see list of participating stations below) and if successful students will take part in a one week training programme in the radio station which will culminate with a broadcast of content created and produced by students on a selected programme in the radio station. At the end of the programme, students will be presented with a certificate of completion.

15
Radio Stations
225
Students
50
Schools
30
Hours of Broadcast

Benefits You Will Get From The Programme

Meet your radio hero

Create on-air content

Inside Out view of radio

Create content that matters to you

Have your voice heard on radio

Make new friends and connections

Participating Radio Stations

The following Learning Waves member stations are participating in the TY Media Week. The stations will recruit between 10 and 15 Transition Year students from a range of schools in their broadcast area. Students, once selected, will take part in a week long programme in the radio station in their area. At the end of the week, students will broadcast content on a programme selected by the radio station.

  • Beat 102-103 FM

    Beat 102-103 FM

    Co. Waterford Monday 14th October to Monday 21st October 2019
    Find out more
  • Clare FM

    Clare FM

    Co. Clare Monday 10th February to Friday 15th February 2020
    Find out more
  • FM104

    FM104

    Co. Dublin Monday 10th February to Friday 15th February 2020
    Find out more
  • Galway Bay FM

    Galway Bay FM

    Co. Galway Monday 25th November to Saturday 30th November 2019
    Find out more
  • KCLR 96FM

    KCLR 96FM

    Co. Kilkenny Monday 14th October to Friday 18th October 2019
    Find out more
  • LMFM

    LMFM

    Co. Louth TBC
    Find out more
  • Newstalk 106-108FM

    Newstalk 106-108FM

    Co. Dublin Monday 27th January to Friday 31st January 2020
    Find out more
  • Ocean FM

    Ocean FM

    Co. Sligo Monday 20th Januray to Friday 24th January 2020
    Find out more
  • Radio Kerry

    Radio Kerry

    Co. Kerry Monday 11th November to Saturday 16th November 2019
    Find out more
  • Red FM

    Red FM

    Co. Cork Monday 3rd February to Saturday 8th February 2020
    Find out more
  • Shannonside

    Shannonside

    Co. Longford Monday 27th January to Saturday 1st February 2020
    Find out more
  • Tipp FM

    Tipp FM

    Co. Tipperary Monday 17th February to Friday 21st February 2020
    Find out more
  • WLR FM

    WLR FM

    Co. Waterford Monday 21st October to Saturday 26th October 2019
    Find out more

If you have any further questions about the programme, please email Paula at info@learningwaves.ie