IMRO Awards Salute Irish Radio

Friday night saw the biggest names in Irish radio congregate in the stunning Lyrath Estate Hotel, Kilkenny, for the 2017 IMRO Radio Awards. The gala ceremony was attended by over 600 guests and hosted by the ever entertaining radio DJ and funny man, Dermot O’Leary. In the months leading up to the awards, 90 judges deliberated over 677 entries and a total of 295 hours of radio from stations all across the country.  

LMFM took home gold for ‘Local Station of the Year’ and they didn’t stop there. They also managed to bag two silver awards for the Late Lunch with Gerry Kelly for Best Magazine Programme and ‘Wheels for John’ in the Community and Social Action category. In response to winning Local Station of the Year, LMFM’s programme director, Eamonn Doyle said: “It has been a complete team effort and that he is delighted that the work they’ve put in has come off”. Congratulations to all involved!

The Breakfast Show on Classic Hits 4FM which is presented by Jim McCabe and PJ Gallagher scooped the Gold Award in this category beating off competition from the Ian Dempsey Breakfast Show and FM104's the Strawberry Alarm Clock with Jim Jim and Nobby.

Dara Quilty from 98FM was celebrating on the double after winning the award for his music programme, The Big Ride Home and then taking the award for Music Broadcaster of the year, congratulations Dara. See Dara pictured on the right.

See the full list of all our members who took home gold:

Chairperson of the IMRO Radio Awards Committee, Sean Murtagh, when speaking of this year's awards said: "the radio community across the country can celebrate and be proud of their work", these awards allow us to "salute the incredible work of those behind the scenes as well as front of the mic in stations."

Eleanor McEvoy, Chair of IMRO said; “The IMRO Radio Awards celebrate and applaud the many radio professionals who day-in-day-out shine a light on the important local, national and international topics and issues that affect us all and who create that all too important musical soundtrack of our lives.”

From us at Learning Waves, we second this motion, thank you to IMRO for a fantastic night and we send our congratulations to everyone involved, especially our members.

LMFM, winners of Local Station of the Year pictured with IMRO Chairperson, Eleanor McEvoy after receiving their award.  Congratulations to all from all at Learning Waves Skillnet.









Listen to what Eamonn Doyle, Programme Director in LMFM had to say about the win :

« Back to Blog Posts